Death, Diamonds, and Deception by Rosemary Simpson audiobook

Death, Diamonds, and Deception

By Rosemary Simpson
Read by Sarah Zimmerman

Tantor Audio 9781496722126

The Gilded Age Mystery Series: Book 5

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781665202442

  • ISBN: 9781665202435

  • ISBN: 9781665202459

Runtime: 10.21 Hours
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Set amidst the opulent mansions and cobblestone streets of Old New York, this fifth novel in Rosemary Simpson’s acclaimed series brings the Gilded Age to life, as heiress Prudence MacKenzie and ex-Pinkerton Geoffrey Hunter dash down a twisted maze from Fifth Avenue to Five Points in pursuit of stolen diamonds.

Fall 1889. Lady Rotherton has arrived from London intent on chaperoning her niece Prudence through a New York social season to find a suitable husband. It’s certainly not her niece’s devilishly handsome partner in Hunter and MacKenzie Investigative Law. Aunt Gillian’s eye for eligible suitors is surpassed only by her ability to discern genuine gems from nearly flawless fakes. At the Assembly Ball at Delmonico’s, she effortlessly determines that the stones are fake in the spectacular diamond waterfall necklace adorning the neck of the wife of banker William De Vries.

Insisting on absolute discretion to avoid scandal, the banker employs Prudence and Geoffrey to recover the stolen diamonds pried out of their settings—priceless stones acquired by Tiffany, originally purchased for Marie Antoinette. Their search for a possible fence rapidly leads to a dead end: a jeweler brutally killed in his shop during an apparent theft.

The jeweler’s murder is only the first in a string of mysterious deaths, as Prudence and Geoffrey pursue their elusive quarry. But the clues keep leading back to duplicity on the part of the De Vries family, who, it turns out, have a great deal to hide.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“In Simpson’s satisfying fifth Gilded Age mystery…Simpson blends a briskly paced investigation with well-chosen Gilded Age details. Fans of Victoria Thompson and Alyssa Maxwell will be pleased.” Publishers Weekly
“A chance observation at a fancy ball exposes embezzlement, scandal, and murder…Simpson takes her unconventional duo from the upper crust to the lowest dregs of New York society in the Gilded Age.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Rosemary Simpson

Author Bio: Rosemary Simpson

Rosemary Simpson is the author of the Gilded Age Mystery Series set in Old New York, as well as two stand-alone historical novels, The Seven Hills of Paradise and Dreams and Shadows. She is a member of Sisters in Crime, International Thriller Writers, and the Historical Novel Society. Find her online at RosemarySimpsonBooks.com.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 10.21
Audience: Adult
Language: English