Fingerprints of Previous Owners by Rebecca Entel audiobook

Fingerprints of Previous Owners: A Novel

By Rebecca Entel
Read by Cherise Boothe , Robin Miles , and Ron Butler

Blackstone Publishing 9781944700232

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781538450680

  • ISBN: 9781538450673

  • ISBN: 9781538450697

Runtime: 8.90 Hours
Category: Fiction
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Chicago Review of Books Pick for Best of the Year So Far

This is a soulful and timely novel exploring family histories and community divides, in the vein of Nicole Dennis-Benn’s Here Comes the Sun and Monique Roffey’s The White Woman on the Green Bicycle.

At a Caribbean resort built atop a former slave plantation, Myrna works as a maid by day; by night she trespasses on the resort’s overgrown inland property, secretly excavating the plantation ruins that her island community refuses to acknowledge. Rapt by the crumbling walls of the once slave owner’s estate, she explores the unspoken history of the plantation—a site where her ancestors once worked the land, but which the resort now uses as a lookout point for tourists.

When Myrna discovers a book detailing the experiences of slaves, who still share a last name with the majority of the islanders, her investigation becomes deeply personal, extending to her neighbors and friends, and explaining her mother’s self-imposed silence and brother’s disappearance. A new generation begins to speak about the past just as racial tensions erupt between the resort and the local island community when an African American tourist at the resort is brutally attacked.

Suffused with the sun-drenched beauty of the Caribbean, Fingerprints of Previous Owners is a powerful novel of hope and recovery in the wake of devastating trauma. In her soulful and timely debut, Entel explores what it means to colonize and be colonized, to trespass and be trespassed upon, to be wounded and to heal.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Rebecca Entel writes with spellbinding intelligence and a deep knowledge of the human heart. Her writing is true and exquisite, serious and fun.” Lorrie Moore, New York Times bestselling author
“How drastically different perspectives can simultaneously coexist is the foundation for Entel’s debut novel.” Cedar Rapids Gazette (Iowa)
“This is the first novel by Entel…and it is a magnificent one. Her prose is lyrical, luminous, and each detail has been planted as precisely as a foundation stone…Both Myrna and Entel seek to unearth a long-buried history; both of them seek to give voice to those who have been silenced. Here’s hoping that Entel follows her first novel with many more.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Entel’s delicately crafted debut explores the relationships between the resort, an economic center that distorts the island’s history for its own purposes, and the local people and the ways the past infuses the present.” Booklist
“One of the novel’s most effective components is the weaving of multigenerational and intercontinental relationships among the islanders and Americans who have a history with Furnace Island, where the story takes place…[and the] passages are beautifully descriptive.” Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Rebecca Entel

Author Bio: Rebecca Entel

Rebecca Entel is an associate professor of English and creative writing at Cornell College, where she teaches African American and Caribbean literature and directs the Center for the Literary Arts. She holds a BA from the University of Pennsylvania and a PhD from the University of Wisconsin. Her short stories have been published in Guernica, Joyland magazine, Madison Review, and elsewhere, and several have been shortlisted for awards from Glimmer Train, Southwest Review, and the Manchester Fiction Prize.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 8.90
Audience: Adult
Language: English