Fingerprints of Previous Owners (audiobook)

A Novel

8.9 hrs • 7 CDs• 1 MP3 CD • Unabridged
Fiction
Target Audience: Adult
Release Date: 07/04/17
Title is unavailable in your country
FORMAT PURCHASED RELEASE ISBN PRICE ADD TO CART
Library CD Library Edition CD titles are packaged in an attractive, full-sized, durable vinyl case with full color art. Cloth Sleeves keep compact discs protected and in numerical order. 
- 07/04/17 9781538450673
$69.00
Out of stock
MP3 CD MP3-CDs: Come in a durable vinyl case similar to a dvd case. An index of contents and tracking information are included within the Mp3-CD format. MP3's can be played on any compatible CD player 
- 07/04/17 9781538450697
$29.95
Out of stock

People Who Bought This Also Bought

Summary

Chicago Review of Books Pick for Best of the Year So Far

This is a soulful and timely novel exploring family histories and community divides, in the vein of Nicole Dennis-Benn’s Here Comes the Sun and Monique Roffey’s The White Woman on the Green Bicycle.

At a Caribbean resort built atop a former slave plantation, Myrna works as a maid by day; by night she trespasses on the resort’s overgrown inland property, secretly excavating the plantation ruins that her island community refuses to acknowledge. Rapt by the crumbling walls of the once slave owner’s estate, she explores the unspoken history of the plantation—a site where her ancestors once worked the land, but which the resort now uses as a lookout point for tourists.

When Myrna discovers a book detailing the experiences of slaves, who still share a last name with the majority of the islanders, her investigation becomes deeply personal, extending to her neighbors and friends, and explaining her mother’s self-imposed silence and brother’s disappearance. A new generation begins to speak about the past just as racial tensions erupt between the resort and the local island community when an African American tourist at the resort is brutally attacked.

Suffused with the sun-drenched beauty of the Caribbean, Fingerprints of Previous Owners is a powerful novel of hope and recovery in the wake of devastating trauma. In her soulful and timely debut, Entel explores what it means to colonize and be colonized, to trespass and be trespassed upon, to be wounded and to heal.

Review Quotes

“Rebecca Entel writes with spellbinding intelligence and a deep knowledge of the human heart. Her writing is true and exquisite, serious and fun.”

Lorrie Moore, New York Times bestselling author

“How drastically different perspectives can simultaneously coexist is the foundation for Entel’s debut novel.”

Cedar Rapids Gazette (Iowa)

“This is the first novel by Entel…and it is a magnificent one. Her prose is lyrical, luminous, and each detail has been planted as precisely as a foundation stone…Both Myrna and Entel seek to unearth a long-buried history; both of them seek to give voice to those who have been silenced. Here’s hoping that Entel follows her first novel with many more.”

Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Entel’s delicately crafted debut explores the relationships between the resort, an economic center that distorts the island’s history for its own purposes, and the local people and the ways the past infuses the present.”

Booklist

“One of the novel’s most effective components is the weaving of multigenerational and intercontinental relationships among the islanders and Americans who have a history with Furnace Island, where the story takes place…[and the] passages are beautifully descriptive.”

Library Journal