How to Set Yourself on Fire by Julia Dixon Evans audiobook

How to Set Yourself on Fire

By Julia Dixon Evans
Read by Christina Delaine

Highbridge Audio, HighBridge

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781665125291

  • ISBN: 9781665125277

  • ISBN: 9781665125284

Runtime: 8.62 Hours
Category: Fiction/Literary
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Sheila's life is built of little thievings. Adrift in her mid-thirties, she sleeps in fragments, ditches her temp jobs, eavesdrops on her neighbor's Skype calls, and keeps a stolen letter in her nightstand, penned by a UPS driver she barely knows. Her mother is stifling and her father is a bad memory. Her only friends are her mysterious, slovenly neighbor Vinnie and his daughter Torrey, a quirky twelve-year-old coping with a recent tragedy.

When her grandmother Rosamond dies, Sheila inherits a box of secret love letters from Harold C. Carr—a man who is not her grandfather. In spite of herself, Sheila gets caught up in the legacy of the affair, piecing together her grandmother's past and forging bonds with Torrey and Vinnie as intense and fragile as the crumbling pages in Rosamond's shoebox.

As they get closer to unraveling the truth, Sheila grows almost as obsessed with the letters as the man who wrote them. Somewhere, there's an answering stack of letters—written in Rosamond's hand—and Sheila can't stop until she uncovers the rest of the story. Threaded with wry humor and the ache of love lost or left behind, How to Set Yourself on Fire establishes Julia Dixon Evans as a rising talent in the vein of Shirley Jackson and Lindsay Hunter.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Julia Dixon Evans

Author Bio: Julia Dixon Evans Julia Dixon Evans lives in San Diego. Her fiction has appeared in Monkeybicycle, The Fanzine, Hobart, Paper Darts, and elsewhere. Her nonfiction work has appeared in Like the Wind Magazine and Barrelhouse. She is an editor and program director for the literary nonprofit and small press So Say We All.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 8.62
Audience: Adult
Language: English