If I Tell You the Truth by Jasmin Kaur audiobook

If I Tell You the Truth

By Jasmin Kaur

HarperCollins 9780062912640

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • Available on 01/19/2021

    ISBN: 9781799947585

  • Available on 01/19/2021

    ISBN: 9781799947578

  • Available on 01/19/2021

    ISBN: 9781799947592

Category: Fiction
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Rupi Kaur, this heartrending story told in prose, poetry, and illustration weaves together the stories of a mother and daughter’s lives.

In this stunning sophomore novel, acclaimed writer Jasmin Kaur explores trauma, fear, courage, community, and the healing power of love in its many forms.

Kiran flees her home in Punjab for a fresh start in Canada after a sexual assault leaves her pregnant. But overstaying her visa and living undocumented brings its own perils for both her and her daughter, Sahaara.

Sahaara would do anything to protect her mother. When she learns the truth about Kiran’s past, she feels compelled to seek justice—even if it means challenging a powerful and dangerous man.

if i tell you the truth

that i’ve dug

from the hardened depths

of this shrapnel-filled dirt

with these aching, bloody hands

would you believe me?

would you still love me?

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jasmin Kaur

Author Bio: Jasmin Kaur

Jasmin Kaur is a writer, illustrator, and spoken word artist living in Vancouver, BC. Her writing, which explores feminism, social empowerment, love, and survival, acts as a means of healing and reclaiming identity. As an arts facilitator and fourth-grade teacher, Jasmin has been leading creative writing workshops for young people across North America, the UK, and Australia over the past fi ve years. Visit her online at www.jasminkaur.com.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English