If You Knew Her by Emily Elgar audiobook

If You Knew Her: A Novel

By Emily Elgar
Read by Katey Sobey

HarperAudio, Harper Paperbacks 9780062834041

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781538498880

  • ISBN: 9781538498866

  • ISBN: 9781538498873

Runtime: 10.51 Hours
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

From a terrific new voice comes a standout debut thriller in the vein of What She Knew and I Let You Go.

“Emotionally charged and tautly plotted, Emily Elgar’s debut is a stunning example of psychological suspense.”—Clare Mackintosh, international bestselling author of I Let You Go and I See You

A woman in a coma. The man who could save her life—if only he could speak.

When young, beautiful Cassie Jensen arrives unconscious to the intensive care ward at St. Catherine’s hospital after being struck in a hit-and-run while out walking her dog, chief nurse Alice Marlowe thinks she looks familiar. She starts digging deeper into Cassie’s relationships, only to discover something about her patient that she’d been keeping secret from everyone, including her devoted husband and family. Soon Alice finds herself obsessed with her patient’s past and future, even willing to put her own career on the line in her single-minded search for answers. Frank, a patient on the same ward who has locked-in syndrome, can hear and see everything around him but cannot speak. Soon he comes to understand that Cassie’s life is still in danger. While the police continue to look for clues, only Frank holds the truth, but he’s unable to communicate it. As the novel flashes between points of view, the listener will get closer and closer to the truth of who Cassie Jensen was, and why she was out on the road that fateful night . . .

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This debut author is one to watch! The skillfully-written perspectives alternate between Alice, Frank, and Cassie, and with a Hitchcock-esque mastery of suspenseful tension, Elgar creates a charged atmosphere that will keep readers riveted to the story, unable to put down the book until the surprising end.” RT Book Reviews (4½ stars, Top Pick!)
“Elgar’s gratifying, well-written tale of family predicaments will be a good match for women’s-fiction readers looking for something a bit darker.” Booklist
“Such a brilliant and cleverly crafted idea. A novel which will make you wonder what others are really thinking.” Jane Corry, author of My Husband’s Wife
"[A] gratifying, well-written tale.” Booklist
“Emotionally charged and tautly plotted, Emily Elgar’s debut is a stunning example of psychological suspense.” Clare Mackintosh, internationally bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Emily Elgar

Author Bio: Emily Elgar

Originally from the Cotswolds, Emily Elgar studied at Edinburgh University and went on to complete the novel writing course at the Faber Academy. She lives in East Sussex, England, with her husband. If You Knew Her is her first novel.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Runtime: 10.51
Audience: Adult
Language: English