Legends of the North Cascades by Jonathan Evison audiobook

Legends of the North Cascades

By Jonathan Evison

Algonquin Books 9781643750101

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • Available on 06/08/2021

    ISBN: 9781665047920

  • Available on 06/08/2021

    ISBN: 9781665047913

  • Available on 06/08/2021

    ISBN: 9781665047937

Category: Fiction
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

“Beautifully rendered and cinematic . . . A story of survival and the love and devotion between parent and child.” —Jill McCorkleauthor of Hieroglyphics 

Dave Cartwright has had enough. After three tours in Iraq he has come home to Vigilante Falls in Washington State only to find that he feels incapable of connecting to the people and the place that once defined him. Most days, his love for his seven-year-old daughter, Bella, is the only thing keeping him going. When tragedy strikes, Dave makes a dramatic decision: he will take Bella to live in a cave in the wilderness of the North Cascades.

So begins a compelling adventure, a story of a father and daughter attempting to cope with a breathtaking but harsh environment. Once they are settled in the cave, Bella retreats into a different world, that of a mother and son who had lived in that same space, but thousands of years before, at the end of last Ice Age. As the two dramas begin to merge, a timeless odyssey unfolds, both as a meditation on the perils of isolation and an exploration of humans' indelible struggle to survive.

Perfect for readers of Peter Heller's novels or Kristin Hannah's The Great AloneLegends of the North Cascades is Jonathan Evison's return to sweeping, multicharacter narratives like his New York Times bestseller West of Here and is an immensely satisfying read.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jonathan Evison

Author Bio: Jonathan Evison

Jonathan Evison lives on an island on the coast of Washington State. His first novel, All About Lulu, won the Washington State Book Award.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Audience: Adult
Language: English