Little Darlings by Melanie Golding audiobook

Little Darlings: A Novel

By Melanie Golding
Read by Stephanie Racine  and Melanie Golding

Blackstone Publishing 9781683319979

Unabridged

Format: CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781982628741

  • ISBN: 9781982628734

  • ISBN: 9781982628758

  • ISBN: 9781982679231

Runtime: 11.85 Hours
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A Booklist Pick of Top 10 Books of Women's Fiction

An April 2019 LibraryReads Pick

“Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Grimms’ Fairy Tales, and Aimee Molloy’s The Perfect Mother.

Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own … creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.

A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren’s side in a park. But when they’re found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley—to everyone else—but to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, “These are not my babies!”

Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she saw, she’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life.

Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking—and rechecking—your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Chilling story, beautiful prose. Little Darlings is stunning.” Clare Mackintosh, New York Times bestselling author
“Dark, compelling, and terrifyingly relatable…Takes every parent’s worst fear and deftly twists it into something even more horrific.” Megan Hart, New York Times bestselling author
“Golding spins a modern story of ghosts and fairy tales while also exploring the harsh reality of twenty-first century motherhood…Golding beautifully blends the supernatural with the everyday, keeping readers riveted to the page as they question what is true. Parents, particularly mothers, will see themselves in both Lauren and Harper.” Booklist (starred review)
“Explores the fierce and desperate love we have for our children, written with beautiful intensity…A gorgeous, creepy, modern fairy tale.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“[Golding] skillfully maintains suspense concerning just how much of Lauren’s nightmare might be rooted in the darker recesses of her own mind. Fans of psychological thrillers will look forward to Golding’s next novel.” Publishers Weekly
“Ingenious, chilling, and completely absorbing, Little Darlings is destined to be the hit of 2019. The scariest book I have read in many years.” A. J. Banner, bestselling author of The Good Neighbor
“A twisty, chilling exploration of the dark side of motherhood, brilliantly told by a debut author whose skill is evident from the first page.” Brad Parks, international bestselling author of The Last Act
“Deep. Dark. Utterly addictive. I read this extraordinary book in one breathless gulp…Be warned―you can’t unread this story. It will haunt you.” Teresa Driscoll, author of I Am Watching You

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Melanie Golding

Author Bio: Melanie Golding

Melanie Golding is a graduate, with distinction, of Bath Spa University’s postgraduate creative writing program. She has been a farm hand, a factory worker, a child-minder, and a music teacher. Throughout all this—because and in spite of it—there was always the writing. In recent years she has won and been short-listed in several local and national story competitions. Little Darlings is her first novel.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD, Playaway
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Runtime: 11.85
Audience: Adult
Language: English