Little Deaths by Emma Flint audiobook

Little Deaths: A Novel

By Emma Flint
Read by Lauren Fortgang  and Graham Halstead

Hachette Books 9780316272476

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781478969051

  • ISBN: 9781478969020

  • ISBN: 9781478969044

Runtime: 10.19 Hours
Category: Fiction/Literary
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A Library Journal Audio-in-Advance Pick for January 2017

A 2017 Washington Post Top 10 Book in Thrillers and Mysteries

Longlisted for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award

A Literary Hub Pick of Best Crime Books of 2017

An Indie Next List selection

It’s 1965 in a tight-knit working-class neighborhood in Queens, New York, and Ruth Malone—a single mother who works long hours as a cocktail waitress—wakes to discover her two small children, Frankie Jr. and Cindy, have gone missing. Later that day, Cindy’s body is found in a derelict lot a half mile from her home, strangled. Ten days later, Frankie Jr.’s decomposing body is found. Immediately, all fingers point to Ruth.

As police investigate the murders, the detritus of Ruth’s life is exposed. Seen through the eyes of the cops, the empty bourbon bottles and provocative clothing which litter her apartment, the piles of letters from countless men and Ruth’s little black book of phone numbers, make her a drunk, a loose woman—and therefore a bad mother. The lead detective, a strict Catholic who believes women belong in the home, leaps to the obvious conclusion: facing divorce and a custody battle, Malone took her children’s lives.

Pete Wonicke is a rookie tabloid reporter who finagles an assignment to cover the murders. Determined to make his name in the paper, he begins digging into the case. Pete’s interest in the story develops into an obsession with Ruth, and he comes to believe there’s something more to the woman whom prosecutors, the press, and the public have painted as a promiscuous femme fatale. Did Ruth Malone violently kill her own children, is she a victim of circumstance—or is there something more sinister at play?

Inspired by a true story, Little Deaths, like celebrated novels by Sarah Waters and Megan Abbott, is compelling literary crime fiction that explores the capacity for good and evil in us all.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Deeply moody and moving, Little Deaths embodies the role of women in the sixties, especially those who dared to deviate from societal norms.” Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author
"A period piece and police procedural that is wrenching and real and deeply moving…[a] lush, moody, film noir of a novel.” Chris Bohjalian, New York Times bestselling author
This thrilling suspense story will make you question your loyalties at every turn. Harper's Bazaar
“Flint is scrupulous about centering this moody thriller in the facts yet giving them a deeper psychological spin. In a way that feels measured rather than salacious, Flint keeps aloft the crucial question of ‘Who murdered the children?’ until the very last pages.” Washington Post
Compelling ... the closing scene is a jaw-dropper.... This is absolutely absorbing literary crime fiction, perfect for fans of Megan Abbott and Sarah Waters. Booklist (starred review)
[An] excellent debut... Flint is unsparing and convincing in her portrayal of Malone, a woman of little education and flawed habits, fighting a society that believes she could not be a good mother. Times (UK)
“This stunning novel is less about whodunit than deeper social issues of motherhood, morals, and the kind of rush to judgment that can condemn someone long before the accused sees the inside of a courtroom.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Sharply rendered literary noir. Kirkus Reviews
I couldn't put it down . . . So utterly satisfying, intriguing, and brilliant that everything else falls short. I can't wait for Emma Flint's next book. Emma Chapman, author of How To Be a Good Wife
A gripping read that is at the same time deeply real. A beautifully written and realized debut. I absolutely loved it. Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat
“An absolutely gripping debut! Emma Flint spins a lyrical tale of horror and suspense in the vivid and thick atmosphere of 1965 Queens. Even after I finished, the story would not leave me. I cannot wait to read more from this talented author.” Beth Harbison, New York Times bestselling author
This accomplished debut novel will intrigue fans of both true crime and noir fiction. Flint...is a welcome addition to the world of literary crime fiction. Readers of Megan Abbott may want to investigate. Library Journal (starred review)
“Utterly atmospheric and with style to burn, Emma Flint’s Little Deaths is a novel that troubles and transfixes from its simmering first pages all the way to its searing final words.” Megan Abbott, author of You Will Know Me
“A chilling tale…The story is well written and will have your attention from the very beginning…With each twist and turn, you will be kept guessing, right up until the very shocking ending.” RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Emma Flint

Author Bio: Emma Flint

Emma Flint was born in Newcastle upon Tyne in northeast England. She graduated from the University of St. Andrews with an MA in English language and literature and is a graduate of the Faber Academy writing program in London. Since her childhood, she has read true-crime accounts, developing an encyclopedic knowledge of real-life murder cases and of notorious historical figures, as well as a fascination with unorthodox women—past, present, and fictional. She works as a technical writer in London.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, Playaway
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 10.19
Audience: Adult
Language: English