Mule by Tony D'Souza audiobook

Mule: A Novel of Moving Weight

By Tony D'Souza
Read by Charlie Thurston

Blackstone Publishing, Blackstone Publishing

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9780792794332

Runtime: 9.17 Hours
Category: Fiction/Action & Adventure
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

James and Kate are golden children of the late twentieth century, flush with opportunity. But an economic downturn and an unexpected pregnancy send them searching for a way to survive. A friend in California's Siskiyou County grows prime-grade marijuana; if James transports just one load from Cali to Florida, he'll pull down enough cash to survive for months. And so begins the life of a mule. A zeitgeist-capturing novel that plunges you into the criminal underworld with little chance to take a breath, Mule is about young people trying to make do in a moment when the American Dream they never had to believe in—because it was handed to them, fully wrapped and ready to go at the takeout window—suddenly vanishes from the menu.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Mule is the sort of novel I love: it solves nothing but explains everything. It also, thanks to its wicked style and pacing, lets me forget I’m reading serious literature while I follow its terrifying story into the land of the all-American damned.”  Walter Kirn, author of Up in the Air
Mule is swift, taut, and relentless, both a rip-roaring drug tale and a fascinating portrait of a decent human being whose morals slowly disintegrate under unbearable financial strain. Tony D’Souza proves, yet again, that he is an immensely clever storyteller with plenty of talent to spare.”  Lauren Groff, author of The Monsters of Templeton 
“With adrenaline-infused sentences and a seat-gripping storyline, Tony D’Souza has written one of the first great novels to emerge from our perplexing, endless recession. A heartfelt tale of one family’s freefall, Mule is a novel that illuminates contemporary American desperation, both its dangerous precipices and its thrilling, overwhelming freedom.”  Dean Bakopoulos, author of My American Unhappiness
“An acutely detailed page-turner.” Entertainment Weekly
“[D’Souza’s] authorial voice is sharp and crisp, eschewing flowery prose for a hard-hitting narrative style that perfectly suits the page-turning, drug fueled tale. Fans of Toby Young and Max Barry and those who follow D’Souza’s magazine work will greatly enjoy the timely, witty, fast-paced Mule.”  Booklist
“A smart and bracing ground-level exploration of the drug trade.” Kirkus Reviews 

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Tony D'Souza

Author Bio: Tony D'Souza

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Library CD
Category: Fiction/Action & Adventure
Runtime: 9.17
Audience: Adult
Language: English