New Kid by Jerry Craft audiobook

New Kid

By Jerry Craft
Read by the author and  various narrators

Quill Tree Books, HarperCollins 9780062691200

1

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781982609047

  • ISBN: 9781982609030

  • ISBN: 9781982609054

Runtime: 1.98 Hours
Category: Fiction
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Winner of the 2020 Newbery Medal

A 2020 Audie Award Finalist for Best Narration in Middle-Grade Books

Winner of the Coretta Scott King Award for Authors

Winner of the Kirkus Prize

A Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List Selection

2020 Audie Awards® Finalist—Middle Grade

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature, and an Audie Award finalist!

An original full-cast audio adaptation of the graphic novel from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft, performed by the author with Jesus Del Orden, Nile Bullock, Robin Miles, Guy Lockard, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, Phoebe Strole, Marc Thompson, Miles Harvey, and Ron Butler. Named an Audible Best Audiobook of the Year!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Filled with sound effects and original music, this audio adventure is one the whole family will enjoy.

A selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List.

Plus don't miss Jerry Craft's Class Act!

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This engaging story offers an authentic secondary cast and captures the high jinks of middle schoolers and the tensions that come with being a person of color in a traditionally white space.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“More than a story about being the new kid—it’s a complex examination of the micro- and macroaggressions that Jordan endures from classmates and teachers…Highly recommended.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“Speaking up about the unrepresented experience of so many students makes this a necessary book, particularly for this age group.” Booklist (starred review)
“[A] heartbreakingly accurate middle-grade tale of race, class, microaggressions, and the quest for self-identity…Engrossing, humorous, and vitally important.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jerry Craft

Author Bio: Jerry Craft

Jerry Craft is an award–winning author and illustrator who has worked on numerous picture books, graphic novels, and middle grade novels, including The Zero Degree Zombie Zone by Patrik Henry Bass. He is the creator of Mama’s Boyz, an award-winning syndicated comic strip. He has won five African American Literary Awards, and he is a cofounder of the Schomburg Center’s Annual Black Comic Book Festival. He received his BFA degree from the School of Visual Arts. Visit him online at www.jerrycraft.net.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 1.98
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English