Noah’s Wife by Lindsay Starck audiobook

Noah’s Wife

By Lindsay Starck
Read by Kirsten Potter

Blackstone Publishing, Blackstone Publishing 9780399159237

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781504624503

  • ISBN: 9781504624480

  • ISBN: 9781504624497

  • ISBN: 9781504692717

Runtime: 9.68 Hours
Category: Fiction/Literary
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

In the tradition of Daniel Wallace’s Big Fish and Eowyn Ivey’s The Snow Child comes a gorgeously written, brilliantly introspective, fable-like novel reimagining Noah’s Ark for our modern times.

When young minister Noah and his dutiful wife arrive at their new post in the hills, they find a gray and wet little town where it’s been raining for as long as anyone can remember. Noah’s wife is determined to help her husband revive this soggy congregation, but she soon finds her efforts thwarted by her eccentric new neighbors, among them an idiom-wielding Italian hardware store owner, a towering town matriarch, and a lovelorn zookeeper determined to stand by his charges. Overwhelmed, Noah’s wife fails to realize that Noah too is battling his own internal crisis.

Soon the river waters rise, flooding the streets of the town and driving scores of wild animals out of the once-renowned zoo. As the water swallows up the houses, the telephone poles, and the single highway out of town, Noah, his wife, and the townspeople must confront not only the savage forces of nature but also the fragile ties that bind them to one another.

Full of whimsy and gentle ironic humor, Noah’s Wife is a wise and poignant novel that draws upon the motifs of the biblical flood story to explore the true meaning of community, to examine the remarkable strength of the human spirit, and to ask whether hope can exist even where faith has been lost.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“If I found out this book had been translated from French, I would learn French in order to be able to read it in the language it was originally written in. I love it.” Daniel Wallace, New York Times bestselling author
“A riveting fable…Starck’s strength is in her characters…compelling, often hilarious individuals, each of whom will remain with you long after you turn the last page.” Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author
“Noah’s Wife may be a contemporary allegory, but Lindsay Starck is a classic storyteller dealing with human folly in the face of nature’s ungovernable force. Her novel is an engrossing fusion of wisdom and beautiful writing.” Mary McGarry Morris, internationally bestselling author
“Through a compelling cast of characters, Starck illustrates the struggle to maintain hope and faith when confronted with loss and destruction…Stunning.” Post and Courier (Charleston, SC)
“A debut of biblical proportions.” Library Journal
“Starck has crafted a quirky tale with several strong characters…Her modern-day fable of faith, hope, loss, and illusion is intriguing.” Booklist
“Lindsay Starck excels at detailing her characters’ emotional and physical responses to this bizarre meteorological situation…Starck writes thoughtfully, with a real ear for the rhythm of language and talent for finding surprising moments of humor amidst the dark nights of the soul her characters face.” BookPage
“Variously romantic, symbolic, philosophical, feminist, and fanciful, this is an atmospheric tale that meanders to a sweetly rousing conclusion. Forget the ark, forget the patriarch. It’s the women who tend to triumph in this modern take on an Old Testament parable.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Lindsay Starck

Author Bio: Lindsay Starck

Lindsay Starck was born in Wisconsin and raised in the Milwaukee Public Library. She studied literature at Yale and creative writing at Notre Dame. She is editor-in-chief of Carolina Quarterly and teaches writing in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, where she lives with her husband and a golden retriever. Although she moves around a lot, she remains a true midwesterner at heart. Noah’s Wife is her first book.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD, Playaway
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 9.68
Audience: Adult
Language: English