Our Last Goodbye by Shirley Dickson audiobook

Our Last Goodbye

By Shirley Dickson
Read by Joan Walker

Bolinda Audio

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9780655612742

  • ISBN: 9780655612742

Runtime: 10.24 Hours
Category: Fiction/Historical
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A heart-wrenching, poignant and totally unforgettable tale of a young woman who must finally face up to the secret she has hidden for a lifetime. A beautiful World War Two novel for fans of Wives of War, Lisa Wingate and Diney Costeloe, that will have you reaching for the Kleenex.

1943, England: On a foggy night during the blackout, twenty-five-year-old May Robinson watches in horror as her mother, Ivy, is tragically killed. Heartbroken, May is not sure she has the strength to harbour the secret she has kept for so many years – a secret that her mother devoted her life to hiding, and that would tear their broken family even further apart.

Vowing to make her mother proud, May trains to be a nurse at the local hospital, against a backdrop of wailing air-raid sirens and the eternal drone of enemy planes. Tending to wounded, ashen-faced soldiers and fighting to save lives, May encounters Richard Bentley, who works at the hospital. But why isn’t he fighting in the war like thousands of other brave young men?

In the darkest of days, amongst death and despair, May and Richard are beacons of hope for one another. But in a perilous time of such uncertainty, and as each longs to escape their past, how well do they really know each other? And when the shocking truth of May’s secret comes to light, can their love survive the impossible?

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Shirley Dickson

Author Bio: Shirley Dickson

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 10.24
Audience: Adult
Language: English