Bad Medicine by Charlotte Bismuth audiobook

Bad Medicine: Catching New York's Deadliest Pill Pusher

By Charlotte Bismuth

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781982116422

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • Available on 01/19/2021

    ISBN: 9781797109909

  • Available on 01/19/2021

    ISBN: 9781797109893

Category: Nonfiction/Law
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Bad Medicine is a taut exploration of America’s deadly battle with opioid addiction—an unnerving and inspirational firecracker of a book.” —Karen Abbott, New York Times bestselling author of The Ghosts of Eden Park

“This page-turning true detective story blew my mind. Charlotte Bismuth shows, in brilliant detail, what happens when patients become victims. Bad Medicine is timely and important; I can’t recommend it loudly enough.” —Mona Hanna-Attisha, MD, MPH, author of What the Eyes Don’t See

A spellbinding story about bringing a deadly doctor to justice.” —Patricia McCormick, New York Times bestselling author

For fans of Dopesick and Bad Blood, the shocking story of New York’s most infamous pill-pushing doctor, written by the prosecutor who brought him down.

In 2010, a brave whistleblower alerted the police to Dr. Stan Li’s corrupt pain management clinic in Queens, New York. Li spent years supplying more than seventy patients a day with oxycodone and Xanax, trading prescriptions for cash. Emergency room doctors, psychiatrists, and desperate family members warned him that his patients were at risk of death but he would not stop.

In Bad Medicine, former prosecutor Charlotte Bismuth meticulously recounts the jaw dropping details of this criminal case that would span four years, culminating in a landmark trial. As a new assistant district attorney and single mother, Bismuth worked tirelessly with her team to bring Dr. Li to justice. Bad Medicine is a chilling story of corruption and greed and an important look at the role individual doctors play in America’s opioid epidemic.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A spellbinding story about bringing a deadly doctor to justice.” Patricia McCormick, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Charlotte Bismuth

Author Bio: Charlotte Bismuth

Charlotte Bismuth started her legal career at the firm of Debevoise & Plimpton, LLP, and joined the New York County District Attorney’s Office in 2008 as an appellate attorney. In 2010, she transferred into the Office of the Special Narcotics Prosecutor, which prosecutes felony narcotics crimes within the City’s five boroughs. She is a graduate of Columbia University, Columbia Law School, and the Instituts d’etudes politiques in Paris. She lives in New York City with her husband and three children.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Nonfiction/Law
Audience: Adult
Language: English