Qualityland by Marc-Uwe Kling audiobook

Qualityland

By Marc-Uwe Kling
Translated by Jamie Lee Searle
Read by Patricia Rodriguez

Grand Central Publishing, Hachette Book Group 9781538732960

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781549103285

  • ISBN: 9781549103261

  • ISBN: 9781549186905

Runtime: 10.71 Hours
Category: Fiction/Science Fiction
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

What if the perfect world wasn't built for you?

Welcome to QualityLand, the best country on Earth. Here, a universal ranking system determines the social advantages and career opportunities of every member of society. An automated matchmaking service knows the best partners for everyone and helps with the break up when your ideal match (frequently) changes. And the foolproof algorithms of the biggest, most successful company in the world, TheShop, know what you want before you do and conveniently deliver to your doorstep before you even order it.

In QualityCity, Peter Jobless is a machine scrapper who can't quite bring himself to destroy the imperfect machines sent his way, and has become the unwitting leader of a band of robotic misfits hidden in his home and workplace. One day, Peter receives a product from TheShop that he absolutely, positively knows he does not want, and which he decides, at great personal cost, to return. The only problem: doing so means proving the perfect algorithm of TheShop wrong, calling into question the very foundations of QualityLand itself.


Qualityland, Marc-Uwe Kling's first book to be translated into English, is a brilliantly clever, illuminating satire in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut, Douglas Adams, and George Orwell that offers a visionary, frightening, and all-too funny glimpse at a near future we may be hurtling toward faster than it's at all comfortable to admit. So why delay any longer? TheShop already knows you're going to love this book. You may as well head to the cash register, crack the covers, and see why that is for yourself.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Witty, wise, and terrifyingly funny, Qualityland is a genius gem and an absolute must read. I laughed my phone off.” Kira Jane Buxton, author of Hollow Kingdom
Qualityland is the best kind of satire, offering up a funhouse mirror version of our world that is so smart and so cutting, you have to laugh to keep from crying.” Rob Hart, author of The Warehouse
Qualityland is very funny and very scary—my kind of book.” Mike Judge, creator of HBO’s Silicon Valley

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Marc-Uwe Kling

Author Bio: Marc-Uwe Kling

Marc-Uwe Kling is a German songwriter, slam poet, and stand-up comedian and has recorded performances in both German and English. Qualityland spent months on the German bestseller lists and has sold more than half a million copies to date internationally. Kling lives in Berlin.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, Playaway
Category: Fiction/Science Fiction
Runtime: 10.71
Audience: Adult
Language: English