The Boat Runner by Devin Murphy audiobook

The Boat Runner: A Novel

By Devin Murphy
Read by Matthew Waterson

By Devin Murphy
Read by Matthew Waterson

HarperAudio, HarperCollins 9780062658012

1

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781538453964

  • ISBN: 9781538453940

  • ISBN: 9781538453957

Runtime: 11.74 Hours
Category: Fiction/Literary
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.

Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem.

On days when they aren’t playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their Uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become a common sight. But conflict still seems unthinkable, even as the boys’ father naively sends his sons to a Hitler Youth Camp in an effort to secure German business for the factory.

When war breaks out, Jacob’s world is thrown into chaos. The Boat Runner follows Jacob over the course of four years, through the forests of France, the stormy beaches of England, and deep within the secret missions of the German Navy, where he is confronted with the moral dilemma that will change his life—and his life’s mission—forever.

Epic in scope and featuring a thrilling narrative with precise, elegant language, The Boat Runner tells the little-known story of the young Dutch boys who were thrown into the Nazi campaign, as well as the brave boatmen who risked everything to give Jewish refugees safe passage to land abroad. Through one boy’s harrowing tale of personal redemption, here is a novel about the power of people’s stories and voices to shine light through our darkest days, until only love prevails.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Murphy’s debut novel is a purposely limited view of war, as was The Red Badge of Courage, but strong characters and compelling narrative convey the impact well beyond one family. An impressive debut.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“A stellar account of wartime sacrifice, loss, and suspense.” Publishers Weekly
“Debut novelist Murphy lends authenticity to his story by drawing on the life of his Dutch maternal grandfather and his own experiences at sea…An effectively detailed, morally complex book that will appeal to all readers of historical fiction.” Library Journal
“Murphy’s novel is successful not only for its visceral depiction of Europe at war but also as a study in character, limning Jacob’s growth to a self-sufficient, empathetic adult.” Booklist
“Murphy is a rare writer whose prose rings with authority and beauty as it weaves the devastating story of children coming of age in the darkest hours of the twentieth century…an unforgettable tale of human triumph.” Jonis Agee, author of The Bones of Paradise
“An epic and unknown story of World War II, it lays bare the moral impossibilities families face when bombs begin to fall. Masterful prose pairs with an uncommon sense for emotional complexity…a much-needed tale of redemption in dark times..” Nicholas Mainieri, author of The Infinite
“[A] fantastic debut novel…a satisfying page-turner, sure, but it is also an allegory for our time, a reminder of world war not so long ago, when fishermen, factory owners, children, and mothers became reluctant heroes, standing bravely against a sudden and twisted evil.” Nikolas Butler, internationally bestselling author of Shotgun Lovesongs

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Devin Murphy

Author Bio: Devin Murphy

Devin Murphy grew up near Buffalo in a family with Dutch roots. He holds an MFA from Colorado State University, a PhD from the University of Nebraska–Lincoln, and is an assistant professor of creative writing at Bradley University. He has worked various jobs in national parks around the country and once had a three-year stint at sea that led him to over fifty countries on all seven continents. His fiction has appeared in over sixty literary journals and anthologies, including the Missouri Review, Glimmer Train, and the Chicago Tribune. He lives with his wife and children in Chicago.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 11.74
Audience: Adult
Language: English