The Keepers: The Box and the Dragonfly

By Ted Sanders
Read by Andrew Eiden

The Keepers Series: Book 1

13.32 Hours 03/03/2015 unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781481533690

  • ISBN: 9781481533683

Artifacts. Miseries. Mysteries . . . From the moment Horace F. Andrews sees the sign from the bus—a sign with his own name on it—everything changes. The sighting leads him underground, to the House of Answers, a hidden warehouse full of mysterious objects. But there he finds only questions. What is this curious place? Who are the strange, secretive people who entrust him with a rare and immensely powerful gift? And what is he to do with it? Horace quickly discovers that nothing is ordinary anymore. From the sinister man lurking around every corner to the gradual mastery of his newfound abilities to his encounters with Chloe—a girl who has an astonishing talent of her own—Horace follows a path that puts him in the middle of a centuries-old conflict between two factions. Horace's journey leads him and Chloe deep into a place where every decision they make could have disastrous consequences. Most important, it links Horace to the Box of Promises and a future he never saw coming. With an action-packed blend of science fiction and fantasy, Ted Sanders creates a world where everything is more than it seems and where friendship and loyalty have the greatest power of all.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Artifacts. Miseries. Mysteries . . .

From the moment Horace F. Andrews sees the sign from the bus—a sign with his own name on it—everything changes. The sighting leads him underground, to the House of Answers, a hidden warehouse full of mysterious objects. But there he finds only questions. What is this curious place? Who are the strange, secretive people who entrust him with a rare and immensely powerful gift? And what is he to do with it?

Horace quickly discovers that nothing is ordinary anymore. From the sinister man lurking around every corner to the gradual mastery of his newfound abilities to his encounters with Chloe—a girl who has an astonishing talent of her own—Horace follows a path that puts him in the middle of a centuries-old conflict between two factions.

Horace's journey leads him and Chloe deep into a place where every decision they make could have disastrous consequences. Most important, it links Horace to the Box of Promises and a future he never saw coming.

With an action-packed blend of science fiction and fantasy, Ted Sanders creates a world where everything is more than it seems and where friendship and loyalty have the greatest power of all.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A wildly original adventure.” Soman Chainani, New York Times bestselling author of The School for Good and Evil series
“Sanders presents a gripping story full of neat ideas, and the chemistry between Horace and Chloe is sweet…An entertaining offering and a fine start to the Keepers series.” Publishers Weekly
“Who wouldn’t be intrigued by a sign with their name on it? Unfortunately, the sign middle schooler Horace F. Andrews sees from the bus window really says “House of Answers,” and it leads to a place filled with precious few of those. What he finds are mysteries galore, including a glass box with very special powers that he seems destined to control…Refreshingly, our hero comes from a healthy and happy home (though Mom has a few mysteries of her own)…Supporting characters add interest, and the magical world is full of detail and wonder. Fans of Harry Potter and Gregor the Overlander will find this one entertaining.” School Library Journal
“Sanders…uses mystery, action, and suspense to intrigue readers throughout the book. Magic is woven into the fabric of the story, but science is an ongoing theme as well. Horace and Chloe are good foils for each other, and while initially enigmatic, their new allies in the Keepers begin to emerge as individuals. A rousing start for the Keepers series.” Booklist
“Though set in contemporary Chicago, the story has a from-another-era charm…An epic adventure of self-discovery, magic, tragedy, and blurred lines of loyalty for middle-grade lovers of fantasy.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Ted Sanders

Ted Sanders is the author of the short-story collection No Animals We Could Name, winner of the 2011 Bakeless Prize for Fiction. His stories and essays have appeared in publications such as the Georgia Review, the Gettysburg Review, and The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories anthology. A recipient of a 2012 National Endowment for the Arts literature fellowship, he lives with his family in Urbana, Illinois, and teaches at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 13.32
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English