The Cold Commands by Richard K. Morgan audiobook

The Cold Commands

By Richard K. Morgan
Read by Simon Vance

Tantor Audio

The Land Fit for Heroes Series: Book 2

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9798200104628

  • ISBN: 9798200104611

  • ISBN: 9798200104635

Runtime: 16.81 Hours
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

With The Steel Remains, award-winning science fiction writer Richard K. Morgan turned his talents to sword and sorcery. The result: a genre-busting masterwork hailed as a milestone in contemporary epic fantasy. Now Morgan continues the riveting saga of Ringil Eskiath—Gil, for short—a peerless warrior whose love for other men has made him an outcast and pariah. Only a select few have earned the right to call Gil friend. One is Egar, the Dragonbane, a fierce Majak fighter who comes to respect a heart as savage and loyal as his own. Another is Archeth, the last remaining daughter of an otherworldly race called the Kiriath, who once used their advanced technology to save the world from the dark magic of the Aldrain—only to depart for reasons as mysterious as their arrival. Yet even Egar and Archeth have learned to fear the doom that clings to their friend like a grim shadow...or the curse of a bitter god. Now one of the Kiriath's uncanny machine intelligences has fallen from orbit—with a message that humanity faces a grave new danger (or, rather, an ancient one): a creature called the Illwrack Changeling, a boy raised to manhood in the ghostly between-world realm of the Grey Places, home to the Aldrain. A human raised as one of them—and, some say, the lover of one of their greatest warriors—until, in a time lost to legend, he was vanquished. Wrapped in sorcerous slumber, hidden away on an island that drifts between...

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Gritty and visceral…Like the first volume, this is a challenging read but absolutely a worthwhile one as well.” RT Book Reviews (4½ stars)
“Morgan brings a fresh approach to epic fantasy, giving his world a hard edge and blending in such sf elements as machine intelligences and extraterrestrial races…Morgan’s protagonists, with their tough outward demeanor and lofty ethics, lend depth and seriousness of purpose to high fantasy and should appeal to fans of George R. R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series.” Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Richard K. Morgan

Author Bio: Richard K. Morgan

Richard K. Morgan is the acclaimed author of Market Forces, Broken Angels, and Altered Carbon, a New York Times Notable Book that also won the Philip K. Dick Award. He lives in Scotland.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 16.81
Audience: Adult
Language: English