The Dark Tower, and Other Stories by C. S. Lewis audiobook

The Dark Tower, and Other Stories

By C. S. Lewis
Edited by Walter Hooper
Read by Simon Vance

Blackstone Publishing 9780062643537

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • Available on 03/31/2020

    ISBN: 9781094090986

  • Available on 03/31/2020

    ISBN: 9781094090979

  • Available on 03/31/2020

    ISBN: 9781094090993

Runtime: 5.11 Hours
Category: Fiction/Short Stories
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

The revered author’s definitive collection of short fiction, which explores enduring spiritual and science fiction themes such as space, time, reality, fantasy, God, and the fate of humankind.

From C.S. Lewis—the great British writer, scholar, lay theologian, broadcaster, Christian apologist, and author of Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, The Great Divorce, The Chronicles of Narnia, and many other beloved classics—comes a collection of his dazzling short fiction.

This collection of futuristic fiction includes a breathtaking science fiction story written early in his career in which Cambridge intellectuals witness the breach of space-time through a chronoscope—a telescope that looks not just into another world, but into another time.

As powerful, inventive, and profound as his theological and philosophical works, The Dark Tower reveals another side of Lewis’s creative mind and his longtime fascination with reality and spirituality. It is ideal reading for fans of J. R. R. Tolkien, Lewis’s longtime friend and colleague.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“If wit and wisdom, style and scholarship are requisites to passage through the pearly gates, Mr. Lewis will be among the angels.” New Yorker

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: C. S. Lewis

Author Bio: C. S. Lewis

Clive Staples Lewis (1898–1963) was one of the intellectual giants of the twentieth century and arguably the most influential Christian writer of his day. He was a fellow and tutor in English literature at Oxford University until 1954, when he was unanimously elected to the chair of Medieval and Renaissance English at Cambridge University, a position he held until his retirement. His major contributions to literary criticism, children’s literature, fantasy literature, and popular theology brought him international renown and acclaim. Lewis wrote more than thirty books, allowing him to reach a vast audience, and his works continue to attract thousands of new readers every year. His most distinguished and popular accomplishments include the Chronicles of Narnia, Out of the Silent PlanetThe Four LovesThe Screwtape Letters, and Mere Christianity.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Short Stories
Runtime: 5.11
Audience: Adult
Language: English