The Dress in the Window by Sofia Grant audiobook

The Dress in the Window: A Novel

By Sofia Grant
Read by Teri Schnaubelt

By Sofia Grant
Read by Teri Schnaubelt

HarperAudio, HarperCollins 9780062499721

1

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781538453780

  • ISBN: 9781538453766

  • ISBN: 9781538453773

Runtime: 9.45 Hours
Category: Fiction/Historical
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A perfect debut novel is like a perfect dress—it’s a “must have” and when you “try it on” it fits perfectly. In this richly patterned story of sisterhood, ambition, and reinvention Sofia Grant has created a story just right for fans of Vintage and The Dress Shop of Dreams.

World War II has ended and American women are shedding their old clothes for the gorgeous new styles. Voluminous layers of taffeta and tulle, wasp waists, and beautiful color—all so welcome after years of sensible styles and strict rationing.  

Jeanne Brink and her sister Peggy both had to weather every tragedy the war had to offer—Peggy now a widowed mother, Jeanne without the fiancé she’d counted on, both living with Peggy’s mother-in-law in a grim mill town.  But despite their grey pasts they long for a bright future—Jeanne by creating stunning dresses for her clients with the help of her sister Peggy’s brilliant sketches.

Together, they combine forces to create amazing fashions and a more prosperous life than they’d ever dreamed of before the war. But sisterly love can sometimes turn into sibling jealousy. Always playing second fiddle to her sister, Peggy yearns to make her own mark. But as they soon discover, the future is never without its surprises, ones that have the potential to make—or break—their dreams.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A remarkable story of sewing, sisterhood, reinvention, and redemption, as only Grant can tell it.” Juliet Blackwell, New York Times bestselling author
“Grant seamlessly weaves an authentic portrait of life after the war into her marvelous descriptions…Readers will enjoy every moment of this saga.” RT Book Reviews
“Readers who enjoy plots offering strong family relationships, artistic creativity, and enterprising business schemes will relish this portrait of mid-century America.” Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Sofia Grant

Author Bio: Sofia Grant

Sofia Grant, called a “writing machine” by the New York Times and a “master storyteller” by the Midwest Book Review, has written dozens of novels for adults and teens under the name Sophie Littlefield. She has won the Anthony and RT Book Awards and been short-listed for the Edgar, Barry, Macavity, and Goodreads Choice Awards. She works from an urban aerie in Oakland, California.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 9.45
Audience: Adult
Language: English