The Kings and Queens of Roam by Daniel Wallace audiobook

The Kings and Queens of Roam

By Daniel Wallace
Read by Angela Brazil

Blackstone Publishing

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781620648278

  • ISBN: 9781624601552

  • ISBN: 9781624601569

  • ISBN: 9781624601576

Runtime: 10.27 Hours
Category: Fiction
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Selected for the May 2013 Indie Next List

A BookPage Book of the Day, May 2013

Helen and Rachel McCallister, who live in a town called Roam, are as different as sisters can be: Helen older, bitter, and conniving; Rachel beautiful, na├»ve—and blind. When their parents die an untimely death, Rachel has to rely on Helen for everything, but Helen embraces her role in all the wrong ways, convincing Rachel that the world is a dark and dangerous place she couldn't possibly survive on her own … or so Helen believes, until Rachel makes a surprising choice that turns both their worlds upside down. In this new novel, Southern literary master Daniel Wallace returns to the tradition of tall tales and folklore made memorable in his bestselling Big Fish. The Kings and Queens of Roam is a wildly inventive, beautifully written, and big-hearted tale of family and the ties that bind.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“There is much magic in Daniel Wallace’s superb new novel—curses, caves, even a haunted wood—but the most impressive magic is Wallace’s understanding of the human heart’s depths and vagaries. The Kings and Queens of Roam is a fairy tale for adults.” Ron Rash, New York Times bestselling author
“An imaginative, sentimental modern-day tall tale…Wallace’s far-fetched, rollicking yarn, written in the vein of Manly Wade Wellman and Fred Chappell, consistently engages the reader.” Publishers Weekly
“Brimming with his brilliant visions and wise observations about life. Part fairy tale, part myth and legend, the city of Roam and her inhabitants—both living and dead—materialize in ways that are equal parts comedy and tragedy.” Jill McCorkle, author of Life after Life
“I paused just as often to savor the beauty of Wallace’s sentences as I did to wipe away tears at his characters’ predicaments. An epic and modern fairy tale of sisters and friendship.” Hannah Tinti, author of The Good Thief
“Reading The Kings and Queens of Roam is like living, for a few hundred pages, in another world: beautiful, epic, tragic, and ultimately redemptive. In Roam Daniel Wallace has created his own Macondo. This is his best novel yet.” Wesley Stace, author of Charles Jessold, Considered as a Murderer
“Wallace’s eerie fairy tale for grown-ups is a melancholy yet enchanting pastiche of love, loss, redemption, and revenge.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Daniel Wallace

Author Bio: Daniel Wallace

Daniel Wallace is the author of five novels. His first, Big Fish, was made into a motion picture of the same name by Tim Burton in 2003, and a musical version is coming to Broadway in 2013Wallace’s work has been translated into more than twenty-five languages and is studied in high schools and universities across the country. He is a contributing editor to Garden & Gun magazine and is the J. Ross MacDonald Distinguished Professor of English at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, where he teaches and directs the Creative Writing Program. He lives in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, with his wife, Laura Kellison Wallace. Visit his website at DanielWallace.org.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD, Playaway
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 10.27
Audience: Adult
Language: English