The Power of the Dog by Thomas Savage audiobook

The Power of the Dog

By Thomas Savage
Afterword by Annie Proulx
Read by Chad Michael Collins , with Afterword read by Annie Proulx

Little, Brown & Company, Little, Brown 9780316610896

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781549107948

  • ISBN: 9781549107924

Runtime: 8.37 Hours
Category: Fiction/Westerns
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

An Oprah Magazine Pick of Books Being Made into Movies

A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of the Year

"A pitch-perfect evocation of time and place" (Boston Globe) for fans of East of Eden and Brokeback Mountain. This new edition, with an afterword by Annie Proulx, marks the return of one of the most powerful and distinctive voices in the literature of the American West.

Set in 1920s Montana, this compelling domestic drama tells the story of two brothers -- and of the woman and young boy, mother and son, whose arrival on the brothers' ranch shatters an already tenuous peace. From the novel's startling first paragraph to its very last word, Thomas Savage's voice -- and the intense passion and cruelty of his characters -- holds readers in thrall.

Soon to be a major Netflix film by Jane Campion, starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Kirsten Dunst.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The finest single book I know about the modern West.” Hudson Review
“A taut and powerful novel.” Publishers Weekly
“Gripping and tense…a work of literary art.” Annie Proulx, New York Times bestselling author
"The Power of the Dog is a masterpiece.” Larry Watson, author of Montana 1948
“A fine novel…studded with fleeting insights, and reverberating for some time after it is laid down. Chicago Tribune

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Thomas Savage

Author Bio: Thomas Savage

Thomas Savage (1915–2003) was born in Salt Lake City. His literary career spanned five decades and thirteen novels, including The Power of the Dog and The Corner of Rife and Pacific. He received a Guggenheim Fellowship in 1980.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Westerns
Runtime: 8.37
Audience: Adult
Language: English