When Elephants Fly by Nancy Richardson Fischer audiobook

When Elephants Fly

By Nancy Richardson Fischer
Read by Caitlin Davies

Harlequin Teen, Harlequin Audio 9781335012364

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781982543679

  • ISBN: 9781982543662

  • ISBN: 9781982543686

Runtime: 9.72 Hours
Category: Fiction/Literary
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Don’t miss one of the most heartwarming young adult novels of the year. Perfect for fans of Water for Elephants, Wonder, and All the Bright Places, When Elephants Fly shows that how we choose to live our lives matters, and that there are some battles worth fighting even if it means losing yourself.

T. Lily Decker is a high school senior with a twelve-year plan: avoid stress, drugs, alcohol, and boyfriends, and take regular psych quizzes administered by her best friend, Sawyer, to make sure she’s not developing schizophrenia.

Genetics are not on Lily’s side. When she was seven, her mother, who had paranoid schizophrenia, tried to kill her. And a secret has revealed that Lily’s odds are even worse than she thought. Still, there’s a chance to avoid triggering the mental health condition, if Lily can live a careful life from ages eighteen to thirty, when schizophrenia most commonly manifests.

But when a newspaper internship results in Lily witnessing a mother elephant try to kill her three-week-old calf, Swifty, Lily can’t abandon the story or the calf. With Swifty in danger of dying from grief, Lily must choose whether to risk everything, including her sanity and a first love, on a desperate road trip to save the calf’s life, perhaps finding her own version of freedom along the way.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This novel manages to cover a wide range of topics: mental health, genetics, family trauma and the scars it can inflict, friendship dynamics, and animal rights.” School Library Journal
“Not only does this book show the reader the perils of keeping elephants in zoos and having them perform in circuses, it does it with heart, grace, and imagination.” Nina Berry, author of The Notorious Pagan Jones
"When Elephants Fly is a compelling read, beautifully threading the complex relationship between mothers and daughters, mental illness and elephants.” Carrie Arcos, author of We Are All That’s Left
"When Elephants Fly will inspire readers to love through fear, to love themselves and their humanity, to love the world.” Jenny Torres Sanchez, author of The Fall of Innocence
“A captivating page-turner filled with hope for both humans and elephants.” Patricia Sims, filmmaker and founder of World Elephant Day
“Nancy Richardson Fischer has managed to combine so many important topics—family, mental illness, extinction, animal welfare, and adolescence—into an accessible, moving, and extraordinary story.” Ellen C. O’Connell, executive VP of Space for Giants
“I encourage everyone to read this inspirational book and discuss mental illness and tolerance and the need to improve wildlife protection.” Katie Rowe, cofounder of Reteti Elephant Sanctuary
“A compelling read, beautifully threading the complex relationship between mothers and daughters, mental illness and elephants.” Carrie Arcos, author of Out of Reach
“Unlike anything I’ve read before in YA…Both a fascinating adventure and a stirring coming-of-age novel.” Sara Zarr, author of Gem & Dixie

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Nancy Richardson Fischer

Author Bio: Nancy Richardson Fischer

Nancy Richardson Fischer is a graduate of Cornell University, a published author with children’s, teen, and adult titles to her credit, including Star Wars titles for Lucasfilm and numerous athlete autobiographies, such as Julie Krone, Béla Károlyi, and Monica Seles. She lives in the Pacific Northwest.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 9.72
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English