Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens audiobook

Where the Crawdads Sing

By Delia Owens
Read by Cassandra Campbell

Penguin Audio 9780735219090

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9780593105412

  • ISBN: 9780593105412

Runtime: 12.21 Hours
Category: Fiction/Literary
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A #1 New York Times bestseller

A #1 New York Times audio bestseller

A Reese’s Book Club Pick

Finalist for the 2018 Southern Book Prize for Fiction

Finalist for the 2019 Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best First Novel by an American Author

USA Today bestseller

An Audible.com bestseller

An iBooks bestseller in audiobooks

A #1 Amazon.com bestseller in Women's Detective Fiction

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

A nature-infused romance with a killer twist. Refinery29
“Anyone who liked The Great Alone will want to read Where the Crawdads Sing....This astonishing debut is a beautiful and haunting novel that packs a powerful punch. It’s the first novel in a long time that made me cry. Kristin Hannah, author of The Great Alone and The Nightingale
The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut. Southern Living
Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine. Publishers Weekly
Delia Owen’s gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit. Real Simple
“Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya’s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives. Vanity Fair
Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya’s deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures. Booklist
A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud. Augusta Chronicle“Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls.
With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut! Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth
“Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time. ShelfAwareness
“This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing. AARP 
“This wonderful novel has a bit of everything—mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina. Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath
Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. Entertainment Weekly
A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders—and dangers—of her private world. The New York Times Book Review
Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina’s Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya’s heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. People
This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver. Bustle
A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It’s clear she’s from this place—the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain—you can feel it in the pages.  A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely. Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight
“Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose.” Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author
“It’s just beautiful. I loved every page of it. That little girl Kya stole my heart.” Reese Witherspoon, Academy Award–winning actress
“A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story.” Entertainment Weekly
“Narrator Cassandra Campbell serves up a bushel of Carolina accents…[which] give the mix of classes and regions in the story the same realistic detail Owens provides for the marsh…Campbell gives us her story in a reverent documentary tone that does justice to the rich descriptions of the natural world that nurtures and fascinates Kya…The investigation and trial unfurl slowly with a more reportorial tone. Prepare to be enchanted and haunted. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine.” Publishers Weekly
“With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale…a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut!” Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth
Where The Crawdads Sing carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls.” David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Delia Owens

Author Bio: Delia Owens

Delia Owens is the author of Where the Crawdads Sing, her first novel, and the coauthor of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa—Cry of the Kalahari, The Eye of the Elephant, and Secrets of the Savanna. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, the African Journal of Ecology, and International Wildlife, among many others. She lives in Idaho, where she continues her support for the people and wildlife of Zambia.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 12.21
Audience: Adult
Language: English